You are here

Join the ever-growing list of 70 past U.S. Eagles players, coaches and staff, and U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame members in recognizing this year's outstanding class of inductees at the 2017 U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner.

Already confirmed to attend this year's Induction Dinner are 1991 U.S. Women's Eagles: Ann Barford, Barb Bond, Tam Breckenridge, Patty Connell, Jen Crawford, Colleen Fahey, Tara Flanagan, Annie Flavin, Kathy Flores, Barb Fugate, Chris Harju, Patty Jervey, Cassie Law, Krista McFarren, Andi Morrell, Candi Orsini, Jan Rutkowski, M.A. Sorensen, Mary Sullivan, Val Sullivan and Morgan Whitehead. 1991 Coaches Kevin O’Brien and Chris Leach will be in attendance. So too will be Team Manager Jane Tierney and physio Sharon Wallace.

Other past Eagles attending are Tim O'Brien, Dave Hodges, Steve Finkel, Tommy Smith, Ed Burlingham, John Everett, Whit Everett, Bill Leversee, Sean Allen, Brian Vizard, John Jelaco, Bill Fraumann, Jim Dierker, Tom Billups, Tim Peterson, Brad Andrews, Jay Hanson, Don James Jr., Ramon Samaniego, Tony Ridnell, Gary Hein, Ray Nelson, Rich Shurfeld, Dan Lyle, Dan Payne, Eric Swanson, Amanda Micheli, Art Ward, Jeff Hollings, Chris Osentowski, Ed Schram Jr., Ray Green and Juan Grobler. Past U.S. Team Manager Ed Schram Sr. will be there, as will past U.S. coaches George Betzler, Ron Mayes, Ray Cornbill, Tony Smeeth and George Henderson. Current U.S. Eagles U20 coach JD Stephenson will also be attending. Also attending will be former Eagles doctor, Dr. John Chase.

In addition, Jervey, Flores, Burlingham, Billups, Vizard, Fraumann, Andrews, Lyle, Hanson, Betzler, Mayes and Cornbill will be joined by fellow Hall of Famers Bob Watkins, Dick Smith, Terry Fleener and Dick Poulson. Trudy Morrison, wife of the late Don Morrison, inducted in 2015, will also be in attendance.

They'll all be on hand to help honor the 10 newest members of the United States Rugby Hall of Fame: the victorious 1991 U.S. Women's Rugby World Cup Team; past U.S. Eagle players Steve Finkel, Dave Hodges, Tim O'Brien, Candi Orsini, and Tommy Smith; former U.S. Eagles Manager, Ed Schram Sr.; USA Rugby Medical Committee Chairman, Dr. Lyle Micheli; long-serving referee, Jim Russell; and rugby administrator and coach, Jay Waldron

This year's U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner will be held on Friday, June 30, 2017 in San Diego the day before the U.S. Men's National Team face Canada in the second of two 2019 Rugby World Cup qualifying matches at the University of San Diego's Toreros Stadium. The dinner will be held at the San Diego Mission Valley Marriott. Individual seats can be purchased for $200, a table for 10 can be purchased for $1,750, while individual student (18 years old and younger) registration can be purchased for $100. A portion of each individual and table purchase will be considered tax deductible. 

And thanks to USA Rugby and the USA Rugby Trust, another special guest, the Webb Ellis Cup, the trophy that the 20 best teams in the world will be competing for in Japan at the 2019 Rugby World Cup, will be in attendance at this year's Induction Dinner. 

Always a major fundraiser for the U.S. Rugby Foundation's youth rugby programs, this year's U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner, a first-time collaboration between the U.S. Rugby Foundation, USA Rugby and USA Rugby Trust, will also benefit the youth rugby programs supported by USA Rugby and the Rugby Trust.

The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame and its Foundation is a 501 c 3 non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the history of U.S. Rugby; supporting the development of the game by funding programs for youth, high school and collegiate rugby; and individual player development programs.