You are here

USA Rugby has named 23 of the 24 teams who will compete for the first-ever collegiate 7s national championship Dec. 16-17 in College Station, Texas. 10 of the 23 teams announced Wednesday won their way into the championship tournament by claiming the title of a qualifying tournament. Empire Conference 7s is slated for Nov. 19, and its champion gets the 24th bid to nationals.

The other 13 teams Texas bound were extended at-large bids by the USA Rugby collegiate competitions committee. Of them, nine finished second at a qualifier and three finished third. One, Cal Poly, finished fourth at California 7s. Two automatic qualifier champions turned down their bids; Dartmouth and BYU. Two teams who finished second at a qualifier, Utah (Pacific 7s) and Penn State (Big Ten), made it known to the competitions committee that if they were extended an at-large bid they'd turn it down.

Four teams who finished second at automatic qualifiers were not extended at-large bids; Harvard (Ivy League), UW-Milwaukee (Midwest 7s), Delaware (Halloween 7s) and Albany (East Coast 7s). 

Teams headed to nationals        *Automatic qualifiers
Air Force (Finished 2nd at Mountain 7s)
Arkansas State (Finished 2nd at South Independent 7s)
*Boston College (Won East Coast 7s)
Cal Poly - SLO (Finished 4th at California 7s)
*Central Washington (Won NCRC 7s)
*Colorado (Won Pacific 7s)
Florida (Finished 2nd at SCRC 7s)
*Kutztown (Won Halloween 7s)
*Life (Won South Independent 7s)
Louisiana State University (Finished 3rd at SCRC)
*Miami (Ohio) (Won Midwest 7s)
*North Carolina State (Won Atlantic Coast Invitational)
Oklahoma (Finished 2nd in Oklahoma 7s)
San Diego State (Finished 2nd at California 7s)
*St.Mary's (California) (Won California 7s)
*Tennessee (Won SCRC 7s)
Texas (Finished 3rd at Oklahoma 7s)
*Texas A&M (Won Oklahoma 7s)
UC Davis (Finished 3rd at California 7s)
UCLA (Finished 3rd at Pacific 7s)
Virginia (Finished 2nd at ACI)
Western Washington (Finished 2nd at NCRC 7s)
*Wisconsin (Won Big Ten 7s)