You are here

World Rugby has finally announced the dates and venues for the 2015/2016 HSBC 7s World Series. After months of misinformation and speculation, it's official that Vancouver, Paris and Singapore are new stops on the men's series and Glasgow and Tokyo are out.

USA 7s has moved, at least for the next season, to March 4-6 and will now pair with the Vancouver tournament a week later. It had previously been grouped with Wellington. Given the World Series schedule is in a bit of disarray in a World Cup year, these dates are likely to be reshuffled after the upcoming season. 

The schedule for the Women's series hasn't been announced, but the news of the day is that HSBC will become its title sponsor as well, giving the women's competition its first. 

“We are particularly delighted that our flagship women’s series will be supported by HSBC over the next few years. Women’s rugby is one of the world’s fastest-growing team sports, with more than 1.5 million regularly playing and new participants being welcomed every day," said World Rugby Chariman Bernard Lapasset. 

"The feats of our best female players on the series have been a source of inspiration to young players and the driving force behind ever-increasing popularity and profile.”

The men's series will begin in December after the conclusion of the World Cup. The competition will act as a lead-up to the 2016 Olympic Games, with tournaments every month through May, 2016. 

2015-16 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series schedule 
Round 1: Dubai: 4-5 December
Round 2: Cape Town: 12-13 December
Round 3: Wellington: 30-31 January
Round 4: Sydney: 6-7 February
Round 5: Las Vegas: 4-6 March
Round 6: Vancouver: 12-13 March
Round 7: Hong Kong: 8-10 April
Round 8: Singapore: 16-17 April
Round 9: Paris: 14-15 May
Round 10: London: 21-22 May