You are here

The first leg of the last HSBC Sevens World Series before rugby returns to the Olympics kicks off next weekend in Dubai, and Monday USA men’s coach Mike Friday announced his 12-man roster.

Carlin Isles, Matai Leuta, Garrett Bender, Zack Test, Folau Niua, Maka Unufe, Nate Augspurger, Madison Hughes and Perry Baker all return after multiple selections last season.

Will Holder will make his first appearance since the United Kingdom stretch at the end of the 2013/2014 season under Matt Hawkins, his only two selections to date. Brett Thompson returns for his first Series appearance since that 13/14 season, as well. He was a regular selection under Hawkins and Alex Magleby before him, but Thompson spent last season playing 15s overseas.

Perhaps the most surprising inclusion is Kevin Swiryn. The 30-year-old former 7s captain hasn’t appeared on the World Series since the 2009/2010 season. After the 2011 World Cup and a stint overseas, Swiryn retired due to mounting injuries. He returned to action in 2013 for the Maccabiah Games and continued on playing club ball for Seattle Saracens.

In Team USA’s pool in Dubai are Portugal, France and New Zealand. 

1) Carlin Isles
2) Matai Leuta
3) Brett Thompson
4) Garrett Bender
5) Zack Test
6) Kevin Swiryn
7) Folau Niua
8) Maka Unufe
9) Nate Augspurger
10) Madison Hughes
11) Perry Baker
12) Will Holder