You are here

Championship 7s will return to WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C., home of the North American Olympic qualifiers in June. According to a report from the Triangle Business Journal, USA Rugby’s college 7s championships will be at the same venue next spring.

USA Rugby’s tournament originated in 2011 in College Station, Texas, where Life won the men’s title and Norwich the women’s. In 2012, again in College Station, Arkansas State won the men’s tournament and Norwich repeated for the women.

In 2013, the Red Wolves repeated and Norwich three-peated in Greensboro, N.C. Carolina, and Principia won the first-ever men’s DII title. In 2014 there was no championship, and in 2015 Lindenwood won the DI men’s tournament, Penn State won the women’s title and James Madison won in DII.

The TBJ report also indicated ESPN’s family of networks will carry the event. It has been streamed by ESPN in the past. The date is set for May 27-29 and will include DII women for the first time ever.