You are here

USA Rugby has approved 13 tournaments as automatic qualifiers for the 2012 College 7s National Championships, which will be held Nov. 30-Dec. 1 at one of four locations: Greensboro, NC, Silverback Stadium in Atlanta, the University of Texas in Austin and Texas A&M in College Station.

The window for men’s tournaments to apply for automatic qualification is quickly closing, and could well be sealed by Friday. The deadline for women’s applications is Aug. 14.

In order to be eligible for an automatic bid, men’s DI conference tournaments must have a minimum of seven member teams participating. Non-conference tournaments must have a minimum of eight DI-A or DI-AA participants.

The DI-A conferences which have not locked down an automatic qualifier are the Mid-South, Rugby East and Allied Rugby Conference.

Davenport is slated to play in the MAC’s qualifier, and Life and Arkansas State are set to play in the South Independent’s qualifier, so all the Mid-South teams are expected to try and compete for a National Title.

The Allied Rugby Conference intends to play a 7s series, and is hoping to make its championship an automatic qualifier.

From Rugby East, Penn State is expected to play in the qualifier comprised of Big Ten schools. Delaware, Army and Kutztown have all been invited to compete in tournaments within the Atlantic Coast Rugby League’s 7s series, some of which are potential qualifiers, but they’re not as of yet, and those invites have not all been accepted.

All of the West teams are slated to compete in the Rocky Mountain qualifier along with Air Force and BYU.

The DI-AA conferences without qualifiers are the Empire, Keystone, Pacific Mountain West and Pacific Western. However, most of the Pacific Mountain West and Pacific Western schools are expected to play in the qualifier in San Luis Obispo.

For a complete list of 7s qualifiers, visit this link.