You are here

The D1AA Chesapeake Collegiate Rugby Conference released its 2018 all-conference squads on Wednesday. Coaches, evaluators, and administrators picked first and second teams as well as an honorable mention side. Combined, 45 players were chosen from each of the eight schools in the Chesapeake.

“Selections first came from the coaches and then evaluating the teams’ and individuals’ play,” conference commissioner Scott Zavrel said. “There were some tough decisions because some of those guys in the honorable mention absolutely could have started on any of the sides and be the best of the conference. With some guys only playing in four or five games this year and other guys playing all the matches scoring a significant amount of points, it all went into the data. Fortunately, from the first place to eigth place squads, we have very competitive teams and players.”

League champion Mary Washington led the pack with seven first-team selections followed by Mount St. Mary’s and James Madison with three each. The Mothers’ freshman wing Tamilore Awonusi, who scored seven tries against JMU and 12 total, highlight Mary Washington’s first team along with the #9-#10 combo of Harry Masters and Michael Sacks and senior prop Wyatt Priddy. Second place Salisbury earned six total selections, including sophomore prop Cam Hoppman on the top squad.

The competitiveness in the conference drives each team to bring their best on Saturday. “When we were discussing the playoffs with all the other league commissioners, we definitively found that Chesapeake is the most competitive conference in D1AA,” Zavrel said.  “We had six matches that were within seven points which were the most by any conference. We only had three games that were over a 50-point differential and nine that had a 21-point differential. All matches were competitive and were very grueling and stressful for the programs because every week was an opportunity where you could show up and lose to the opposite side.”

Zavrel only sees one direction where the conference can go. “Teams are upping their game within the conference. Not only with the individuals improving their skills, but there are teams that are implementing different tactics and frame of play that meet the challenge of the other difficult teams. Mary Washington has definitely set the course for the rest of the teams. They are the top tier right now and we are all working to get up to that level.”

Changes may come to Chesapeake in 2019 with new teams potentially joining the conference. A board meeting set for January will decide their fate, but for now, Mary Washington and Salisbury will represent the conference in the playoffs and hopefully bring another National Championship to the Chesapeake.

First TeamNameSchoolClass Year
1Wyatt PriddyMary Washington2019
2Keegan LowensonMount St. Mary's2019
3Cam HoppmanSalisbury2021
4Bobby McDonnellVirginia Tech2019
5Kelly FernandiVirginia Tech2019
6Archie CullenMount St. Mary's2020
7Joseph CalleryMary Washington2022
8Matthew GordonMary Washington2020
9Harry MastersMary Washington2020
10Michael SacksMary Washington2021
11Tamilore AwonusiMary Washington2022
12Federico MeersohnJames Madison2019
13Chris MarcelinJames Madison2019
14Brian Hay-StuartJames Madison2019
15Bradlee NichollsMary Washington2021
Second TeamNameSchoolClass Year
1Ike SchurmanMaryland2021
2Colin StillerTowson2020
3Chris YoungTowson2019
4Nick AuvilTowson2019
5Cole ZerrenerJames Madison2019
6Jesse WolfordMaryland2020
7Joe McElhennySalisbury2020
8James KraunelisGeorgetown2019
9Jacob CommodoriTowson2021
10Logan EmeryVirginia Tech2021
11Brian O'NealVirginia Tech2019
12Adam HilellyGeorgetown2021
13Seamus BrennanMary Washington2022
14Peter DucaTowson2019
15Luis TurbyfieldMount St. Mary's2019
Honorable NameSchoolClass Year
1Tucker ChewningMary Washington2019
2Rocco MunnaVirginia Tech2020
3Kyle PowersMount St. Mary's2019
4Andrew LaMarcaMary Washington2019
5Bobby BakerJames Madison2019
6Colin CostiganSalisbury2020
7Cameron SamuelsMaryland2021
8Cameron BarrGeorgetown2020
9Alex SeymourSalisbury2019
10Colby RiggMount St. Mary's2022
11Brendan YetterTowson2020
12Sean EagenVirginia Tech2020
13Jimmy GasperSalisbury2019
14Aidan GallagherMary Washington2022
15Jordan BakoucheSalisbury2019