You are here

The field for the D1A National Rugby College 15s National Championships has been set and the first round matches are scheduled for April 16th. Twelve teams were selected with top four clubs earning opening round byes for claiming their conference championships. The seeds were determined by the final USA Rugby D1A Rankings and conference championship winners.

Life and Saint Mary’s earned the top two seeds in the tournament by winning the Mid-South and California Conference, respectively, and being ranked #1 and #2. Utah from the West Conference and Indiana from the Big Ten also earned the byes and will wait until the quarterfinals on April 23rd for a home playoff game.

In the opening round on April 16th, San Diego State hosts Davenport, Arizona is at Louisana State, Cal Poly travels to Air Force, and Lindenwood draws Wheeling Jesuit at home.

The quarterfinals are scheduled for April 23rd. The winner of the San Diego State vs Davenport game will play Life and the victor of the Arizona vs LSU test will be on the road against Utah. St. Mary’s will face the winner of the Cal Poly vs Air Force match and, finally, Indiana will receive either Wheeling Jesuit or Lindenwood in Evansville, Ind.

The Final Four round will be on April 30th at the higher seed’s home field and the National Championship on May 7th will be hosted by St. Mary’s in Moraga, Calif.