You are here

Photo Credit - Wade Judge

(Bob Phillips, Dartmouth '60, contirbuted to this article.)

College rugby has held few surprises with high quality sides winning year after year, especially in fifteens where, for example, U. Cal-Berkeley, BYU, Life, St. Mary’s, Navy, Army, Penn State, and Arkansas State, etc. have dominated play.

In the first Collegiate Rugby Sevens Championship (CRC) held in Columbus, Ohio, in 2010, the finale came down to powerhouses Cal versus Utah, won by the latter in overtime. When the tournament moved to Philadelphia the next year, the pre-event outlook assumed that the finalists would again come from a small group of familiar rugby schools.

But then in 2011, the unexpected occurred; Dartmouth from the Ivy League sailed through the second tournament to beat Army 32-10 for the title. The Big Green’s head coach, Alex Magleby, alumnus of Class of 2000, and former Eagle at fifteens and sevens, crafted a team geared for the special style of strategic sevens play.

In the following year, 2012, Dartmouth was the repeat winner, defeating Arizona 24-5 for its second Collegiate Rugby Championship. Another rugby trophy would be added to the large collection inside the Corey Ford Field House.

The Dartmouth players of those back-to-back victories (now retitled the Penn Mutual Insurance Collegiate Rugby Championship) received an honor when they were inducted into the school’s Wearers of the Green award during Homecoming in Hanover 2017. The Wearers of the Green was created in 1984 to honor students, alumni, and coaches who achieved athletic excellence. 


Back Row:- Nate Brakeley, Paul Jarvis, Will Mueller, TJ Cameron, Kevin Clark, Nick
Downer, Tanner Scott, Chris Downer, Anthony Desir, James Sharpe
Front row: - Derek Fish, Bill Lehmann, Clark Judge, Madison Hughes, Justin Ciambella,
Steve Morris

Congratulations for a well-deserved honor.