You are here

The men’s collegiate DII national playoff structure is close to being announced, as the College Competitions Committee has approved a plan which employs the traditional method of 16 teams being split across four regions.

13 conferences will see their champions receive automatic bids, and three at-large bids will be awarded by the College Competitions Committee. In order to be eligible for an automatic berth, conferences must have at least seven playoff-eligible members.

Not all DII conferences met that requirement, as some leagues bolster their memberships with NSCRO teams or teams that are required to play in DI if they wish to compete in the postseason, per the college restructuring plan.

The 13 conferences receiving automatic bids have not been officially announced, but RUGBYMag has identified the 13 that we believe met the requirements to do so, and they’re listed below.

Three of the four regions, in which the rounds of 16 and eight will be played, will include an at-large team. Unlike in years past, the regions will not be seeded right away, as the College Competitions Committee is reserving the right to seed closer to the competition with the most recent knowledge of the teams’ competitive bodies of work.

The conferences we believe are receiving automatic bids

Great Lakes
New England
Northern Lights
NY Upstate
Pacific Western
Rugby Northeast
Tri States