You are here

The Men’s Division Two field at USA Rugby College 7s Nationals starts tomorrow in Glendale, Colo. Once again the field consists of 12 teams, with most winning their conference and several getting at large bids.

The field is divided into three groups of four teams. The top two from each pool and the two best third place finishers will qualify for the cup rounds.

Pool A: Wisconsin-Whitewater, William Paterson, Bloomsburg, Old Dominion

Wisconsin-Whitewater will look to complete its second consecutive double title in 15s and 7s. The Warhawks claimed the 15s title in the fall, and will look to take home another 7s title this weekend. Most of the team is still in place and coming in they are the team to beat.

William Paterson returns to the tournament after winning the try state for the second time in a row. They are joined by newcomers Bloomsburg and Old Dominion. Both won their respective qualifiers, in the MARC and the Cardinal Conference.

Pool B: UNC-Charlotte, Montana State, North Carolina State, Principia

This pool features 2017 runner up UNC-Charlotte. The 49ers won the Southern Conference again this year and will be gunning for a title this go around. Montana State has become the standard bearer in the Northern Lights after years Minnesota Duluth dominance. 

Returning for the second consecutive year is NC State and Principia. NC State cracked into the top eight capturing the Plate last year while Principia missed out on the cup rounds. Principia won the first ever DII 7s title three years ago and will be looking to recreate that magic.

Pool C: Hartford, Norwich, St. Louis, North Texas

Hartford is the team to watch in Pool C. The Hawks took Whitewater to the brink last year, losing 17-12 late in the match. 

Two of the other teams in the pool return from 2017. Norwich, St. Louis,  missed out on the cup rounds last year but are capable sides. Norwich has been a power in 15s for several years and St. Louis reached the finals two years ago. 

North Texas is the other team in the pool.