You are here

The Pacific Western Conference has added UC Davis and Sacramento State, expanding the league to nine. This marks the second-straight year of growth for the DI-AA league, which added Stanford last season. 

Davis and Sacramento State come to the Pacific Western from the DI-A California Conference, where they finished at the bottom of the table last season. They join Stanford, Chico State, Fresno State, UC Santa Cruz, Nevada, San Jose State and San Francisco State. 

“With addition of Stanford last year and now two more competitive universities, the conference competition will be that much stronger without putting pressure on travel costs” said Pacific Western commissioner James Fonda. “The travel expense has become a burden on these universities, while good competition was here along. It now allows them to use these financial resources to help their programs more efficiently.” 

“We are very excited being accepted into the Pacific Western and we are looking forward a tough competition,” Sacramento State head coach Adam Macrae said.

“UC Davis Aggie Rugby is thrilled to join the conference," added Davis club president Seve Woods. "We believe our commitment to rugby excellence and academic excellence is a perfect fit for this conference. We are eager to join the competitive atmosphere that this conference affords us.”  

The move leaves the Califormia Conference with National Champion St. Mary's, Santa Clara, San Diego State, Cal Poly and UC Santa Barbara.