You are here

The South Independent Rugby Conference has added and dropped two teams for the upcoming 2012/2013 season. Gone are Emory and Florida International, and new to the SIRC are Memphis and Georgia Tech.

Emory went winless in the SIRC-North last season and has opted to play DII next season, while Florida International was voted out for forfeiting every league game.

Memphis competed in DII last year and has added a new coach as the program tries to revitalize. Georgia Tech finished winless and at the bottom of the Atlantic Coast Rugby League table last season and won just one game the year before, over Duke which opted out of DI-AA prior to the 2011/2012 season.

Both of the new teams will compete in the North Division, giving the Yellow Jackets a lighter travel load than they had in the ACRL.

Georgia Tech gives the SIRC two teams from schools who compete in the ACC in traditional sports (Florida State is the other), and both are expected to compete in both the ACRL's 7s tournament and the SIRC's. Given that both are qualifiers for USA Rugby's National Championships, they will have to determine which tournament they intend to qualify through prior to playing. With Life and Arkansas State in the SIRC tournament, they are expected to pick the ACRL.