You are here

The Men’s Tri-State Rugby Conference has announced its fall schedule. With a plethora of new schools, the Tri-State features a new regular and postseason format.

The Tri-State has added five former members of the Empire Union into the fray, including Union, Siena, RPI, Montclair State and New Jersey Institute of Technology. It will also add six teams to form an NSCRO division. Bard, Manhattanville, Drew, LIU, Rutgers “C” and SUNY Oneonta will also fall under the auspices of the Tri-State.

“We are really excited to have these new teams,” said Tony Brown, the Director of Tri-State Rugby and head coach of Vassar College. “These schools breathe new life into the league and add a nice balance.”

With the addition of these five schools, the Tri-State has elected to break up the DII teams into North and South Divisions. The three upstate New York schools, RPI, Union and Siena, will join the rest of the New York teams (minus Long Island) in forming the North division. NJIT, Montclair State and the Long Island schools will join the Connecticut and Jersey schools in forming the South division.

The decision to break up the conference into two divisions was largely due to logistics. “Geographically it makes sense. There is reduced travel and it puts less of a strain on program budgets. It was all predicated by travel and cost,” said Brown.

Due to the breakdown of the region, the South Division will have two more teams. It will start on September 7th, several weeks ahead of the North division, so that the conference can fit all games into the schedule.

The postseason competition for DII will consist of the top four teams from each bracket facing off in cross-divisional play. The final four and championship for the DII playoffs will take place on November 2nd and 11th respectively. NSCRO will only feature a final four and will coincide with the DII playoffs.

The complete schedule for the 2014 fall season can be found at under the news section.

North DivisionSouth DivisionNSCRO Division
SUNY New PaltzMontclair StateManhattanville
UnionNJITRutgers "C"
VassarSacred HeartSUNY Oneonta
Seton Hall
William Paterson