You are here

Sixteen Captains in Cape Town

HSBC Cape Town Sevens - The second event on the 2018-2019, ten-circuit sevens series commences tomorrow in Cape Town, South Africa. In 2017, the home country Springboks were favored but finished a disappointing third. New Zealand won the Cup with a 38-14 win against Argentina. Los Pumas are in the same pool this time as the USA. Eastern Standard Times for the three Eagles Saturday matches follow:

5.05 am - Japan

8:26 am - Spain

12:12 am - Argentina

(There is no live TV coverage in the USA.)

Dubai 7s HSBC Dream Team (Men): The 2018 Dubai Sevens Men's Dream Team featured three England players, Dan Norton, Tom Mitchell, Ethan Waddleton, two Australians, Maurice Longbottom, John Porch, along with Andrew Knewstubb from New Zealand, and Marcos Moroni from Argentina. Perry Baker was nominated for Impact Player of the Tournament.

Americas Rugby Championship (ARC) 2019 Dates - The USA open their title defense of the annual Americas Rugby Championship away against Chile. Schedule follows:

Date    Opponent        City

Feb. 2  Chile                Santiago

Feb 9. Argentina XV  Rio Negro

Feb. 23 Brazil             Austin

Mar. 2 Uruguay         Seattle

Mar. 8   Canada          Seattle

World Rankings 2018 - In 2018, the USA achieved a twelfth place ranking, the highest ever. First time wins over Scotland and Samoa bolstered the Eagles up the ladder. Arbitrarily, the so-called "Tier Two" rugby nations might begin with Japan in the eleventh slot, followed by the USA. Argentina have dropped to tenth, but remember that in the annual ARC, the Eagles play an Argentinean second side.

Oxford vs. Cambridge 2018, The Varsity Match - The annual December fixture known as "The Varsity Match" witnessed a divided victory, Oxford Men defeating the Light Blue 38-16, while Cambridge Women beat the Dark Blue 8-5. For the Men, this represented the 137th contest, where Cambridge lead 63-60 in total wins (14 draws).  For the Women, Oxford enjoy a 19-13 margin over Cambridge. The first game was played in 1872, and the matches at Twickenham began in 1921.