You are here


America Pacific Challenge Cup: Round Three - The third round of the 2017 America Pacific Challenge Cup in Montevideo, Uruguay, ends this Sunday, October 15 with three matches. All games are against regional rivals. Undefeated Argentina XV (2-0) play Uruguay A (1-1), the USA Select (1-1) meet Canada A (0-2), and Tonga A (1-1) will play Samoa A (1-1). The junior Pumas from Argentina play in a higher class of competition than the other five nations. The USA Select will try to score a second win after their 49-36 triumph against Uruguay A. Highlights of these America Pacific Challenge Cup matches can be viewed at Noticeable is the absence of but a handful of spectators seated in Estadio Charrua. (USA match at 1 p.m. ET. and broadcast on The Rugby Channel for subscribers.)

NBC To Televise Six Nations Championship - The European Six Nations will be broadcast by NBC, beginning in 2018. Currently, NBC also airs the Rugby World Cup, the HSBC World Rugby World Sevens Series, and, brings the English Aviva Premiership into US homes. The Six Nation plan is for matches to appear on linear and digital platforms.

European Rugby Championship Cup Begins - The annual championship playoff tournament for the top European professional clubs begins this week, starting on Friday with games continuing during Saturday and Sunday. The championship consists of five pools of four clubs each. The Saracens in the Aviva Premiership are looking for their third Cup in a row, and are heavily favored to retain the title. The Saracens play Northampton Saints at Franklin's Gardens Stadium in Northampton with a capacity of 15,000. The clubs will play until the final in May, which will be held in the Athletic Bilbao San Mamés Stadium, seating 53,000.

Silicon Valley Sevens, San Jose - Only three more weeks to the inaugural Silicon Valley Sevens on November 4 and 5 in Avaya Stadium, San Jose, California. Twelve international sides, including Ireland making their American sevens debut, and all three Pacific Island nations (Samoa, Tonga, and Fiji), will join New Zealand, England, China, and the USA Eagles. Tickets available at The tournament also features music events.