You are here

World Rugby Awards Dinner, 2017

Rugby Championship - Game 5 - The southern hemisphere returns to action this Saturday when South Africa (2-2) welcome Australia (1-3) and Argentina (2-2) host New Zealand (3-1). The Springboks and Wallabies will play in Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth. Los Pumas and the All Blacks will compete in Velez Sarsfield Stadium, Buenos Aires. It will be interesting to learn how the Kiwis respond after the upset by South Africa in the most recent match in New Zealand. In addition, Australia must overcome a poor start to begin their road to the Rugby World Cup next September in Japan.

Chicago Triple Header, Tickets On Sale - There will be a rare triple-header in Chicago on November 3, the three matches in Soldier Field. The first game will see the USA Women Eagles play the world champions Black Ferns from New Zealand. The mid match is a Test between Ireland, ranked second in the world, and Italy. The final contest pits the USA Men's Eagles against the Maori All Blacks. Tickets start at $40 and increase to $757 plus fees, available at

Women's Falcons, Hokkaido 7s Outcome - The Falcons, a Women's developmental sevens side, finished seventh in a Japanese hosted tournament. The team went 2-4 in the two-day event, both wins coming against Cook Islands. Dave Clancy coached the squad, and he offered special praise for the try-scoring duo of Neariah Persinger and Kristi Kirsh.

Land Rover Sponsors World Rugby Awards Dinner - Land Rover has signed to sponsor the annual World Rugby Awards Dinner. Again, this year, the event will be held in the Salle des Etoiles, Monte Carlo. The date is November 25. The gala will present its "Award for Character." Past winners were:

2017: Eduardo Oderigo (Argentina)

2016: Rugby Opens Borders (Austrian Rugby Union)

2015: Pakistan Rugby Union 

World Rugby Women's 7s in Glendale - The kick off to the 2018/2019 HSBC Women's 7s circuit commences October 20 and 21 in Glendale, Colorado. The Eagles three-game pool lineup on Saturday follows:

England at 1:14

China at 3:58

New Zealand at 7:04