You are here

Men's sessions to take place July 27-29 with Women's session happening July 31- August 1, 2020.

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games organizing committee has announced session times for the men’s and women’s rugby sevens competitions.

As previously announced, the sevens will take place at the iconic Tokyo Stadium, a Rugby World Cup 2019 host venue, from July 27 - August 1.

In a reverse to the Rio 2016 schedule, the men’s competition will be played first over three days from July 27-29 with the women’s competition taking place from July 31 - August 1 and culminating with the gold medal session on ‘Super Saturday’.

The organizing committee has confirmed that there will be two sessions on each competition day. The morning session will kick-off at 9 AM JST and run until 12 PM JST and the evening session will begin at 4:30 PM and finish at 7 PM. The medal matches will take place in the evening sessions.

The times have player welfare at heart, avoiding the peak heat of the Japanese summer time.

Information regarding the ticketing program, including the on-sale date for fans, will be announced by the Tokyo 2020 organizing committee on Thursday, April 18.

Rugby sevens was a highlight of a spectacular Rio 2016 Olympic Games on debut, with Australia’s women and Fiji’s men winning gold medals – the first Olympic rugby medals since 1924 when the United States defeated France to become Olympic Champions. 

The announcement of the schedule comes as the race to secure a ticket to Tokyo 2020 continues through the breath-taking and highly-competitive men’s and women’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, with the top four nations from each competition set to qualify.

The remaining seven places for each competition will be determined via a global process of regional qualifiers and repechage competitions.