You are here

AB Flyer photo

In the third round of the Americas Rugby Championship, Canada hosted USA at Swangard Stadium Burnaby, British Columbia. The Eagles secured another bonus point win, 51-34.

The Eagles started well and scored two tries in the first six minutes. While Canada did have several strong passages, the Eagles never gave up the lead.

Mike Te’o handed Phil Mack’s first box kick cleanly, giving USA possession inside the Canada half. Bryce Campbell made a break before passing to Todd Clever who then moved the ball on to Ryan Matyas for the opening try.

Shaun Davies converted to make it 7-0.

The second try came from a stolen lineout. Nate Brakeley stole the lineout, and Te’o scored from the ensuing phase. The Eagles showed an early intent to use the full width of the field.

Davies missed the difficult conversion, so it was 12-0.

The next points came, in part, from the pace and width the Eagles were playing with. Brakeley took a lineout quickly and Canada, under pressure, conceded a penalty 42 meters out. Will Magie made the kick and increased the USA lead to 15-0.

Robbie Povey missed a penalty goal for Canada, but things worked out for the Maple Leafs as they scored from the 22 meter drop out. Good runs from Admir Cejvanovic--who had a strong match--and Povey led to a Taylor Paris try.

Canada soon had another chance when the Eagles were penalized for being in front of the kicker. That penalty turned into a five meter lineout, from which Canada won another penalty. Ray Barkwill chose to scrum. Canada won a penalty from that scrum, and Barkwill went from another scrum. Mack took the ball from the base and sprinted through some traffic and into the try zone.

With a quarter of the match gone, Canada was down just three, 15-12.

Canada then had some chances, but was not able to make anything from them. Davies extended the lead with a penalty to 18-12

Povey answered that penalty five minutes later to make it 18-15 with four minutes left in the half.

Following the restart, a poor Canada clearing kick gave USA possession in the attacking half. Barkwill was yellow-carded for a no arms tackle, and the Eagles kicked to touch. The lineout was won cleanly, and the forwards drove the maul over and Anthony Purpura scored the try.

Davies converted the try, and it was 25-15 at halftime.

In the second half, Canada started well but was not able to score any points.

USA was able to kick play into the Canadian 22 where a mistake gave the Eagles a scrum inside 15 meters. After the scrum, playing under advantage, Magie kicked crossfield and Nate Augspurger knocked the ball back and Te’o collected the ball for the try.

More pressure from the Eagles led to another lineout inside 10 meters. This time, it was Todd Clever who claimed the try from the maul

After 55 minutes, it was 37-15 with USA in front.

Canada was not done, though, as Paris scored another. This one came from quick ball from the scrum. Paris was able to get around Ben Cima and Davies and make the score 37-20.

The Eagles then had a long period of pressure, and Canada struggled to get play out of the attacking half. John Quill scored the try that had to come eventually.

With another conversion for Davies, it was 44-20.

However, USA conceded a penalty inside their half which gave Canada the ball and territory. George Barton caught a Povey chip and dove in for Canada’s fourth try.

With ten minutes left, 44-27.

When the USA won the ball back from the following restart, Will Magie stabbed the ball through and Te’o was first to the ball in the try zone.

That try and conversion, which made the score 51-27, were followed by a patch of Canadian pressure and American penalties. Eventually, Cejvanovic powered over from the base of the scrum for the game’s final try. The final score was 51-34.

The teams will play twice more in 2017 in World Cup qualifier matches, and Canada will have a lot to prove.

Next week, USA travels to Chile before ending the ARC against the Argentina XV. Canada now heads to Uruguay.

USA: 1. Anthony Purpura 2. Peter Malcolm 3. Chris Baumann 4. Nate Brakeley 5. Nick Civetta 6. Todd Clever (C) 7. Tony Lamborn 8. Cameron Dolan 9. Shaun Davies 10. Will Magie 11. Nate Augspurger 12. JP Eloff 13. Bryce Campbell 14. Ryan Matyas 15. Mike Te'o

Reserves: 16. James Hilterbrand 17. Dino Waldren 18. Ben Tarr 19. Siaosi Mahoni 20. John Quill 21. David Tameilau 22. Ben Cima 23. Aaron Davis

Canada: 1. Rob Brouwer 2. Ray Barkwill 3. Matt Tierney 4. Conor Keys 5. Reegan O’Gorman 6. Lucas Rumball 7. Ollie Nott 8. Admir Cejvanovic 9. Phil Mack 10. Robbie Povey 11. Taylor Paris 12. Guiseppe Du Toit 13. Nick Blevins 14. Dan Moor 15. Brock Staller

Reserves: 16. Benoit Piffero 17. Djustice Sears-Duru 18. Cole Keith 19. Liam Chisholm 20. Lucas Albornoz 21. Gordon McRorie 22. Gradyn Bowd 23. George Barton