You are here

Austin Brewin photo

Head coach John Mitchell has made three changes from the roster which lost 24-20 to Italy last week ahead of Saturday’s clash with Russia at Sacamento’s Bonney Field. All three changes were driven by unavailability.

"One of the difficulties you have with the national team is that continuity is always a challenge," Mitchell said. "We've planned to have a lot of continuity in terms of the playing group because that gives you the best chance to be coherent."

James King will start at lock in place of the injured Greg Peterson, Tony Lamborn, who came off the bench against Italy, will start at openside, and Mike Te’o gets the start on the wing in favor of Takudzwa Ngwenya, who was knocked out of the Italy game by a nasty collision.

In the back row, Lamborn replaces Andrew Durutalo, who has joined the 7s team for its pre-Olympic camp. Lamborn came on in the second half against Italy when Peterson was injured. To make room, Todd Clever will move from openside to blindside.

New to the bench this week are Luke Hume and Langilangi Haupeakui. Both joined the camp this week. Hume is an old name, but Haupeakui is a new one unearthed by the emergence of PRO Rugby. The No. 8 was one of four Sacramento Express players to join the Eagle camp this week. 

Men's Eagles | v. Russia 
1. Titi Lamositele 
2. James Hilterbrand 
3. Chris Baumann 
4. James King 
5. Nate Brakeley 
6. Todd Clever 
7. Tony Lamborn 
8. Cam Dolan 
9. Nate Augspurger 
10. AJ MacGinty 
11. Blaine Scully (C) 
12. Shalom Suniula 
13. Thretton Palamo 
14. Mike Te'o 
15. Will Holder

Men's Eagles | Reserves 
16. Joe Taufete'e 
17. Ben Tarr 
18. Angus MacLellan 
19. Harry Higgins 
20. Langilangi Haupeakui 
21. Stephen Tomasin 
22. Chad London 
23. Luke Hume

Russia | v. USA 
1. Alexey Volkov 
2. Evgeny Matveev 
3. Evgeny Pronenko 
4. Andrei Garbuzov 
5. Denis Antonov 
6. Viktor Gresev 
7. Pavel Butenko 
8. Anton Rudoi 
9. Rushan Iagudin 
10. Yury Kushnarev 
11. Vasily Artemyev (C) 
12. Dmitry Gerasimov 
13. Kirill Golosnitskiy 
14. Denis Simplikevich 
15. Ramil Gaisin

Russia | Reserves 
16. Nazir Gasanov 
17. Azamat Bitiev 
18. Vladimir Podrezov 
19. Evgeny Elgin 
20. Danila Chegodaev 
21. Alexey Shcherban 
22. Evgeny Kolomiitsev 
23. Anton Ryabov