You are here

10 new starting caps will be handed out Saturday when the United States takes on Canada at 7 p.m. ET at Dell Diamond in Austin, Texas. Eric Fry, Chris Baumann, Todd Clever, Chad London and Luke Hume are the only test veterans in the side. 

Head coach John Mitchell has named Todd Clever captain for the match, as Blaine Scully has returned to Europe for duty with Cardiff. Clever already holds the record for most caps as captain, but he'll stretch it to 43 against Canada. 

Most of the changes were forced by the exit of overseas pros like Scully. Cam Dolan, Taku Ngwenya and Greg Peterson have all returned to their clubs. However, two tactical changes have been made, with Mike Te'o getting the start at scrumhalf over Niku Kruger and Mike Sosene-Feagai usurping Joe Taufete'e at hooker. 

Kruger and Olive Kilifi are the only capped Eagles on the bench, so six more debutants could earn their first test appearance as subs - James Hilterbrand, Pat Blair, Alec Gletzer, JP Eloff and Mike Garrity. 

Canada has a more seasoned team for Saturday, with just one change being made following a 33-17 defeat of Uruguay in the ARC’s first round. 

Men's Eagles | v. Canada 
1. Eric Fry 
2. Mike Sosene-Feagai 
3. Chris Baumann 
4. Brodie Orth 
5. Ben Landry 
6. Nate Brakeley 
7. Todd Clever (C) 
8. David Tameilau 
9. Mike Te'o 
10. James Bird 
11. Kingsley McGowan 
12. Lemoto Filikitonga 
13. Chad London 
14. Luke Hume 
15. Jake Anderson

Men's Eagles | Reserves 
16. Joseph Taufete'e 
17. Olive Kilifi 
18. James Hilterbrand 
19. Patrick Blair 
20. Alec Gletzer 
21. Niku Kruger 
22. JP Eloff 
23. Mike Garrity

1. Hubert Buydens – Captain (Castaway Wanderers/Prairie Wolf Pack) Saskatoon, SK
2. Ray Barkwill – (Castaway Wanderers/Ontario Blues) Niagara Falls, ON
3. Jake Ilnicki – (Castaway Wanderers/BC Bears) Williams Lake, BC
4. Paul Ciulini – (Aurora Barbarians/Ontario Blues) Vaughan, ON
5. Callum Morrison – (UBCOB Ravens/BC Bears) Victoria, BC
6. Lucas Rumball – (Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues) Scarborough, ON
7. Alistair Clark – (Bay Street Pigs/Ontario Blues) Oakville, ON
8. Clay Panga – (Westshore Valhallians/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
9. Gordon McRorie – (Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
10. Gradyn Bowd – (UVIC Vikes/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
11. Dan Moor – (Balmy Beach RFC/Ontario Blues) Toronto, ON
12. Nick Blevins – (Calgary Hornets/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
13. Mozac Samson – (Calgary Saints/Prairie Wolf Pack) Calgary, AB
14. Phil Mackenzie – (Sale Sharks/Ontario Blues), Oakville, ON
15. Pat Parfrey – (Swilers RFC/Atlantic Rock) St. John’s, NL
16. Eric Howard – (Brantford Harlequins/Ontario Blues) Ottawa, ON
17. Djustice Sears-Duru – (Oakville Crusaders/Ontario Blues) Oakville, ON
18. Rob Brouwer – (Lindsay RFC/Ontario Blues) Lindsay, ON
19. Kyle Baillie – (Halifax Tars/Atlantic Rock) Summerside, PEI
20. Liam Chisholm – (UVIC Vikes) Kenora, ON
21. Michael Hamson – (Halifax Tars/Atlantic Rock) Halifax, NS
22. Andrew Ferguson – (Oakville Crusaders/Ontario Blues) Mississauga, ON
23. Duncan Maguire – (St. Albert RFCC/Prairie Wolf Pack) St. Albert, AB