You are here

The Boys High School National Invitational Championship has confirmed th 24 teams set to compete in Elkhart, Ind. May 16-18, 2013. 

The HSNIC was created following USA Rugby's decision not to hold a High School national championship. A committee of coaches and those close to the high school game was formed to set up an application and invitation process.

The HSNIC Committee decided to make some changes to the format USA Rugby has followed for several years:

1) Make the tournament three days, with each team team playing one 60-minute game on each day. This format leaves time for potential overtime for tied games, rather than going directly to penalty kicks.

2) Expand the field of teams to 24, which would allow the Committee to assign teams to a 1st and 2nd tier based on their performance in the spring.

“While many of us wish we could still have the regional play-in format of old, the fantastic growth of state competitions makes that process near impossible in 2013," said Committee Member and Xavier HS Coach Joe Sweeney. "By offering invitations early, we allow teams the opportunity to prepare and fund-raise for their travel. And by inviting 12 teams in each category (but seeding the teams in May) we allow more teams to compete and prove themselves over the course of the season than if we only invited eight teams in February as was done last year.”

The HSNIC will have three brackets: Single-School Tier I, Multi-School Tier I, and a combined Tier II made up of four single-school teams and four multi-school teams.

The Committee will assign teams to their respective tiers based on their performance this season.

All 24 teams went through a rigorous application process, and all applicants were examined carefully for their ability to compete at the HSNIC.

The invited teams are:

Single School Teams:
Chapin (SC), Brownsburg (Ind.), Dixon (Calif.), Notre Dame de La Salette (Ind.), Jesuit (Calif.), Penn (Ind.), Xavier (NY), Gonzaga (DC), St Thomas Aquinas (Mo.), Charlotte Catholic (NC), Greenwich (Conn.), Herriman (Utah).

Multi-School Teams:
Cathedral (Ind.), Grand Rapids (Mich.), San Diego Mustangs (Calif.), Danville (Calif.), Colorado Springs (Colo.), Westerville (Ohio), Broken Arrow (Okla.), United (Utah), Kansas City JR Blues (Mo.), Marin (Calif.), Charlotte Tigers (NC), Brother Rice (Ill.).