You are here

After a thirteen-year wait, England won the Grand Slam in this year’s Six Nations’ championship, defeating France 31-21. The Red Roses scored three tries, two conversions, and four penalties against France’s seven penalties, all off the foot of scrumhalf Machenaud.

England had already clinched the championship with four wins (8 points) before the start of the match at the Stade Francais. But Eddie Jones’s XV wanted the title with an unbeaten round and delivered it, the Triple Crown (wins against the three Home Countries), and the Grand Slam.

Wales crushed Italy 67-14, and Ireland defeated Scotland 35-25.

It was a terrific comeback from the World Cup debacle in October where England failed to make it out of their pool and into the quarterfinals.

Final Table                             Points

England            5   0   0            10

Wales                3   1   1              7

Ireland              2   1   2              5

Scotland           2   0   3              4

France               2   0   3              4

Italy                   0   0   5              0

Disappointing were France and Italy, the latter did not win a game, did not look as if they belonged in the competition, and scored only 8 tries with 29 against. Les Bleus displayed none of the élan of French sides in the past.