You are here


The World Rugby U20 2018 Championship was won by France for the first time, as they beat England 33-25 in Beziers, France. The French Rugby Federation exalted in this historic win congratulating its youth fifteen by stating that “they are the major talent of this rugby generation.” To win the title, the Bleus, in order, defeated South Africa, New Zealand, and, finally, England to secure the gold. A perfect trifecta of victories. Highlights of the match at

South Africa defeated the Baby Blacks 42-30 for the bronze medal.

Other results follow:

5th Wales 34 – 17 Italy 6th

7th Australia 41- 15 Argentina 8th

9th Georgia 39 – 31 Scotland 10th

11th Ireland 39 – 33 Japan 12th

With the Brave Blossoms finishing on the bottom of this year’s U20 annual tournament, they will be relegated to the U20 Trophy Championship in 2019. The winner of the U20 Trophy later this simmer will advance into the tier one U20 contest next year when Argentina hosts.

The U20 Trophy’s eight teams are:

  1. Portugal
  2. Canada
  3. Hong Kong
  4. Fiji
  5. Namibia
  6. Romania (Host)
  7. Samoa (relegated from 2017)
  8. Uruguay

Dates are August 24 to September 10.