You are here

On October 10, 2015, England defeated Uruguay 60-3 in the final pool match in the Rugby World Cup hosted in England and Wales. With a disappointing record of 2-2, the unexpected happened; England would not advance into the RWC quarterfinals after losses to Wales and Australia.

No one could guess at that time, but the English victory in Manchester against Los Teros would begin a fantastic 14-game Test win streak, which would see the Red Roses sweep the Six Nations Cup in Grand Slam style, defeat the Wallabies three times Down Under on tour, and finish the undefeated year of 2016 with four consecutive wins at Twickenham, including triumphs over South Africa and, again, Australia last Saturday 37-21.

For rugby fans in the birthplace of the sport, the turnaround can be attributed to the coaching change after the RWC, when the RFU hired Eddie Jones. He is vocal and opinionated but he delivered promises in fine fashion, returning England to its global rugby supremacy. Admittedly, England and New Zealand did not meet in the calendar year, setting up a dynamic match yet to come.  

The outcomes rest at fourteen consecutive wins, and England have a chance to equal or eclipse the All Black’s skein of 18 in a row, that streak broken this year by Ireland in Chicago. England ran up 14 wins in the 2002-2003 season when it won the 2003 RWC against Australia in the final.

The 2017 Six Nations begins in February. Can England produce another Grand Slam (e.g.; victories over the other five nations) and reach 19 in a row?

What follow are the past England scores:

  1. 60-3 Uruguay
  2. 15-9 Scotland
  3. 40-9 Italy
  4. 21-10 Ireland
  5. 25-21 Wales
  6. 31-21 France
  7. 27-13 Wales
  8. 39-18 Australia
  9. 23-7 Australia
  10. 39-28 Australia
  11. 37-21 South Africa
  12. 58-15 Fiji
  13. 27-14 Argentina
  14. 37-21 Australia

Longest winning runs by Tier One nations (18): New Zealand (15 August, 2015 - 22 October, 2016) -  (17): New Zealand (18 September, 1965 - 14 June, 1969) - (17): South Africa (23 August, 1997 - 28 November, 1998) - (17): New Zealand (8 June, 2013 - 21 June, 2014) - (16): New Zealand (9 September, 2011 - 6 October, 2012)