You are here

All Blacks Raise the William Webb Ellis Trophy - 2015

A subtext of the past World Cup was the complete dominance of the four-nation, southern hemisphere, Rugby Championship teams over the Six Nation European squads. Specifically, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, and Argentina garnered seven wins with no defeats, outscoring their northern opponents 245-121.

The results:

Australia 33 – England 13

Australia 15 – Wales 6

South Africa 34 – Scotland 16

Australia 35 – Scotland 34

Argentina 43 – Ireland 20

South Africa 23 – Wales 19

New Zealand 62 – France 13

These southern hemisphere nations have won seven out of eight world cups (All Blacks 3, Australia 2, South Africa 2), marred only by England’s memorable RWC 2003 win in Australia.

Ironically, the only victory by a northern hemisphere fifteen over the four nations occurred when unheralded Japan upset the Boks in the first round of pool play.