You are here

The television announcer of the final match in this year’s World Rugby U-20 championship made a witty statement after New Zealand trounced England 64-17. He stated, “Black is the new gold.”

The Black in this instance referred to the Baby All Blacks whose ten-try romp of reigning U-20 champ England proved an unexpected rout from the two undefeated sides in the annual tournament, this year, held in Tbilisi, Georgia.

From the end of the haka to the final whistle, the Kiwis dominated all aspects of play, especially when near their opponent’s try line. The Baby Blacks powered in for score after score with Asafo Aumua netting a hat trick. To view the highlights at is to witness the brute power of a determined fifteen, pummeling through and over the England tacklers.

These two nations have shared the U-20 title ten out of the eleven tournaments.

The final standings of the twelve teams follow:

  1. New Zealand
  2. England
  3. South Africa
  4. France
  5. Scotland
  6. Australia
  7. Wales
  8. Italy
  9. Ireland
  10. Georgia
  11. Argentina
  12. Samoa (relegated in 2018)

The winner of the U-20 Trophy Championship will be promoted as the twelfth team next year. This, second-tier event will be held in Montevideo, Uruguay, from August 29 to September 10. The eight regional teams are: Uruguay, Japan, Hong Kong, Namibia, Chile,Cananda, Portugal, and Fiji.