You are here

On June 10, the USA Men's Eagles will begin their Rugby World Cup 2019 preparation with a home Test match contest against Ireland at Red Bull Stadium, Harrison, New Jersey. The week after, the Eagles will host Georgia in Atlanta as the second Test tune up before the important, two match home and away World Cup 2019 qualifier with Canada.

Within the past two-years, Ireland scored double upset victories against World Rugby sides ranked number one (All Blacks) and number two (England). In both victories, the Irish stopped 18-game winning streaks, the first in Chicago, and the second in Dublin.

For all of their surprising upsets, and also a narrow victory against Australia at home last November (27-24), the Irish performances have been spotty. In all past World Cups, Ireland have never advanced out of the quarterfinals, the only Six Nations side, other than Italy, that has failed to advance to the next round. All four southern hemisphere Rugby Championship sides (NZ, Australia, SA, and Argentina) have either won the RWC title, or advanced frequently in the semis. Los Pumas have been third (France 2007) and fourth (England 2015), successful results that only accentuate Ireland's historic failures in the quadrennial tournaments.

The Irish begin a three Test match June tour with the Eagles, and then visit Japan for two games in Shizuoka and Tokyo. The team will travel with 31-players, eight uncapped. For Coach Joe Schmidt, it's an opportunity to watch younger players, and to try to come up with a side that can win that quarterfinal contest in Japan 2019. Ireland will play in the weakest pool against Scotland, Japan, Europe 1 (Romania or Spain), and a Play-off winner from a tier two nation.

The USA will gain Test match experience against Ireland, the fourth ranked team.


Backs (14)
Joey Carbery (Clontarf/Leinster) 3 caps
Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 1 cap
John Cooney (Connacht) *
Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 59 caps
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster) 23 caps
Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht) 13 caps
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster) 9 caps
Luke McGrath (UCD/Leinster) 1 cap
Tiernan O'Halloran (Buccaneers/Connacht) 3 caps
Rory O'Loughlin (Old Belvedere/Leinster) *
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 8 caps
Rory Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) * 
Jacob Stockdale (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) *
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster) 33 caps
Forwards (17)
Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 6 caps
Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster) 1 cap
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 67 caps
Dave Heffernan (Buccaneers/Connacht) *
Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 17 caps
Dan Leavy (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
Tommy O'Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster) 12 caps
Jack O'Donoghue (UL Bohemians/Munster) 1 cap
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) *
Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary's College/Leinster) 13 caps
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) * 
John Ryan (Cork Constitution/Munster) 6 caps
Niall Scannell (Dolphin/Munster) 4 caps
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 47 caps
James Tracy (UCD/Leinster) 2 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ballymena/Ulster) *
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 7 caps
* Denotes uncapped player at international level