You are here

USA Head Coach Mike Tolkin has named his starting lineup to face the Argentina Jaguars Friday evening in the opening round of the Americas Rugby Championship.

Live streaming starts at 6pm PT, 9pm ET Friday, October 11 – click here.

The front row of Titi Lamositele, Phil Thiel and Shawn Pittman are all capped Eagles, while Life University’s Cam Dolan will captain the squad from No. 8.

Graham Harriman is another capped player coming in at lock, while Will Haydock gets another shot to show how he can handle this level.

Cal All American Danny Barrett gets his first run-on for a senior national side, while Liam Murphy looks to mount his comeback to the USA team after injury.

Flyhalf Toby L’Estrange returns as flyhalf, the position he played most of 2013 for the USA, and his chief competitor for that position, Adam Siddall, starts at fullback.

An intriguing pairing of Mile Pulu and Chris Chapman patrols the midfield, while Mark Roberts and Ed Mills are the wings.

This lineup is exactly what Tolkin had hoped it would be, with several players who hope to break into the full Eagles team playing alongside players who either need game time, or have just a couple of caps to their name.

The bench is highlighted by two little-known Californians, loose forward Tai Tuisamoa of OMBAC and center Peter Moala of San Mateo, who have shown well in camp.

USA Selects Lineup to Face Argentina Jaguars
1 Titi Lamositele (Chuckanut U19s/ Saracens trialist)
2 Phil Thiel (Life University)
3 Shawn Pittman (Seattle-OPSB)
4 Graham Harriman (Metropolis)
5 Will Haydock (Seattle-OPSB)
6 Danny Barrett (SFGG)
7 Liam Murphy (Boston)
8 Cam Dolan – Captain (Life University)
9 Shaun Davies (Glendale)
10 Toby L’Estrange (NYAC)
11 Ed Mills (Kansas City Blues)
12 Mile Pulu (SFGG)
13 Chris Chapman (NYAC)
14 Mark Roberts (Chicago Lions)
15 Adam Siddall (Old Blue)

16 Cameron Falcon (LSU)
17 Nick Wallace (Olympic Club)
18 Chris Sullivan (Life University)
19 Tai Tuisamoa (OMBAC)
20 Derek Asbun (University of Cape Town)
21 Chris Saint (HARC)
22 Peter Moala (San Mateo)
23 Tim Maupin (Olympic Club)