You are here

U-20 2015

Today, continues the second day of the 2015 World Rugby’s U-20 championship in two Italian cities. This competition amalgamated former U-19 and U-21 events into one tournament.

Twelve nations are competing for the title, last won by England. Four teams play in three pools as follows:

Pool A: England, France, Wales, and Japan

Pool B: South Africa, Australia, Samoa, and Italy

Pool C: New Zealand, Ireland, Argentina, and Scotland

Many players have gone on to play for their national teams.

The results of the opening round were:

New Zealand 68-10 Scotland

South Africa 33-15 Italy

Argentina 34-22 Samoa

England 59-10 Japan

Ireland 18-Argentina 16

France 19-10 Wales

The Italian hosts scheduled the event, first in the San Michele Stadium in Calvisano and the Sergio Lanfranchi Stadium in Parma. Four stadiums will see games played in the tournament, 

Pool play continues this Saturday, June 6, with the second round, and the third, and final pool event will be June 10th.