You are here

This Tuesday, June 7, commences the annual World Rugby U20 tournament with twelve teams participating in three pools. The venues are at A.G. Bell Stadium in Salford, England, and Academy Stadium in Manchester.

Pool A: New Zealand, Georgia, Wales, and Ireland

Pool B: Australia, Scotland, England, and Italy

Pool C: South Africa, Japan, France, and Argentina

The Junior All Blacks hold the title after a 21-16 victory against England in 2015.

Georgia advanced into the 12th spot after winning the U20 Trophy last year, the second tier U20 event.

The last place team this year will be relegated and be replaced by Samoa, the winner of the 2016 U20 Trophy played earlier this year in Zimbabwe. (The USA finished sixth.)

England hope to showcase Harry Mallinder, Northampton Saints'  Young Player of the Year (pictured above).

The action will continue the following Saturday, June 11th