You are here

The U-20 Boys 2016 champion will be decided this Saturday at 7 p.m. when England play upstart Ireland for the title in Bell Stadium, Manchester. For England, this represents the seventh final in the history of the event, but marks Ireland’s first ever title match. The Irish achieved fourth place once.

In the semi-final round, England defeated South Africa 39-17, while Ireland won easily over Argentina 39-17, after being up 31-3 at the break. Los Pumas and the Springboks will play for third place, also on Saturday.

Irish rugby, which crashed in the 2015 Rugby World Cup, when, for the eighth time, they did not advance out of the quarter-final round, has witnessed some recent positive results. Most important was the opening away test victory against South Africa, the first win against the Springboks ever. Then, the Irish Men’s 7s, a team without much international experience, enjoyed a fine run in the Olympic repechage tournament last week in Monaco with promise of improved play in the future.

The final schedule to slot the one through twelve U-20 2016 spots is:

1 & 2 – Ireland vs. England

3 & 4 – Argentina vs. South Africa

5 & 6 – New Zealand vs. Australia

7 & 8 – Wales vs. Scotland

9 & 10 – Georgia vs. France

11 & 12 – Japan vs. Italy

The loser of the Japan-Italy match will be relegated next year to the secondary U-20 Trophy event as Samoa, this year’s winner, will be promoted to the U-20 tournament.