You are here

Argentina 7s - Winners

The first 7s tournament of 2017 was held in Punta del Este, Uruguay, with a combination of developmental teams from Argentina, Fiji, and the USA, competing against official national sides from other South American countries. For the latter group, the event and this week’s Viña del Mar Sevens in Chile, will determine which two teams will book places in the USA Sevens (March 3,4,5), the Vancouver 7s, and the Hong Kong Tournament. Currently, Chile and Uruguay lead for the South American qualification.

The USA Falcons finished fourth among the eight competitors, losing to Chile 19-17.

Results of matches follow:

Pool A: Fiji, Canada, Chile and Colombia
Pool B: Argentina, USA, Brazil and Uruguay

Pool Play

Chile 19-17 Canada
Fiji 33-0 Colombia 
USA 26-6 Uruguay 
Argentina 24-7 Brazil 

Colombia 19-12 Canada 
Fiji 24 – Chile 7
USA 17-10 Brazil 
Argentina 31 -7 Uruguay 

Chile 28-5 Colombia 
Uruguay 26-7 Brazil 
Fiji 50-5 Canada 
Argentina 38-0 USA 

Chile 19-12 Uruguay 
Argentina 24-5 Canada 
USA 14-12 Colombia 
Fiji 26-0 Brazil 

Argentina 29-0 Chile
Fiji 45-0 USA 

3rd place play-off
Chile 19-7 USA

Fiji 22-21 Argentina