You are here

NEW YORK – A final updated 2017 Penn Mutual Varsity Cup Rugby Championship has been announced that will include Boston College and Utah Valley into the pool of 14 teams, replacing Utah and Arizona State.

Boston College joins the 2017 Varsity Cup having completed one of their strongest seasons in recent history this past fall, finishing in a standings tie atop the East Coast Rugby Conference. Utah Valley, no stranger to the Varsity Cup having won the 2015 D1AA Varsity Cup Championship, is also coming off a strong fall season, winning the Mountain States Collegiate Rugby Conference.

Round One kicks off April 8 at six different universities across the nation, followed by the April 15 quarterfinals and April 22 semifinals before the May 6 Varsity Cup national championship final, which will be hosted at Stevens Stadium on the campus of Santa Clara University and broadcast live on NBC Sports Network at 12pm PST.