You are here

This week's draw for the Rugby World Cup in Japan finds nine of the top ten currently ranked nations slotted in the four pools. Only Fiji, the 10 ranked team, will have to qualify in the Oceania tournaments because they failed to finish in the top three places in RWC 2015.

Remember that Fiji played in that last tournament's "Pool of Death," where they met Australia, England, and Wales, all ranked in the top ten.

A similar tough pool this time finds England again playing more difficult teams in Pool C where the Red Roses will meet cross-channel Six Nations' opponent France, and also an improved Argentina. Los Pumas have finished third and fourth in two of the past three RWCs (France, 2007, and England, 2015).

As pointed out, should the USA beat Canada in the two game, home and away Americas qualifier, they will enter this Pool C to face three sides they have never beaten, and also the second place Oceania team, which might be Fiji, Samoa, or Tonga.

For the Eagles to lose to Canada, but then go on to beat Uruguay (as in many qualifications before), it would set them into Pool D against cumulative lower ranked sides, including Georgia, a team the Eagles will meet in an International Test Match at home June 17 in Georgia (USA).

To lose both qualifiers, would send the USA into a final repechage against other international non-qualifiers. That winner enters Pool B.

The draw for the RWC Japan 2019:
Pool A: Ireland (4), Scotland (5), Japan (11), Europe 1, Play-off winner
Pool B: New Zealand (1), South Africa (7), Italy (15), Africa 1, Repechage winner
Pool C: England (2), France (6), Argentina (9), Americas 1, Oceania 2
Pool D: Australia (3), Wales (8), Georgia (12), Oceania 1, Americas 2

In the quarter-finals, the Pool A winner will face the Pool B runner-up, the Pool B winner the Pool A runner-up, the Pool C winner the Pool D runner-up and the Pool D winner the Pool C runner-up.

Potential Qualifiers (8 total)

Americas (2) = USA, Canada, Uruguay

Oceania  (2) = Fiji, Samoa, Tonga

Europe (1) = Romania, Spain, Russia

Africa (1) = Namibia, Zimbabwe, Kenya

Repechage (1)

Play-off winner (1)

The first draw starts the process in Japan of scheduling some matches in the twelve cities chosen to host games.

Once the qualifying process ends, then fans will know when and where their team is playing.