You are here

Photo Credit - Ian Muir

South Africa have won the HSBC World Rugby 2016/2017 Men’s Sevens after the ninth tournament, winning the Paris 7s.  Next week the capper on the ten circuit event ends in London, May 20 and May 21 at Twickenham. Congratulations to the talented Blitzboks on their first championship since 2009.

South Africa overcame sevens’ stars moving over to the Springboks fifteen, but found new blood from four athletes; Rosko Specman, Werner Kok, Chris Dry, and Philip Snyman. Kok was named Player of the Final in Paris.

The Blitzboks competed in eight of the nine season finals, winning five, and finishing second three times. This fine outcome generated 179 points to date, well ahead of second place England,  which totaled 145. The Red Roses lead third place Fiji by only three-points, and the last event will determine the final standings.

The USA rank fifth, their best placement ever, leading Australia by 13-points, a hefty margin for the Wallabies to surmount.

New Zealand have been the surprise disappointment of the past tournaments, the prior winner of more sevens events than any other nation, did not compete in one cup final this season.  They finished third three-times.

Player notes: The USA’s Perry Baker scored the most tries in Paris with eight, and also tallied the most points with 40. England’s Dan Norton recorded his 250th career try.

The Paris Dream Team featured three Scots, two Blitzboks, one English and one French player as follows:

Paris Dream Team

Chris Dry, SA

Mark Robertson, Scotland

Philip Snyman, SA

Jamie Farandale, Scotland

Jean Paul Barraque, France

George Horne, Scotland

Dan Norton, England

Scotland won the last London event in 2016, and their second-place Paris finish bodes well for another possible upset performance next week.

USA play in pool with South Africa, Wales, and Kenya,