You are here

This Sunday, May 27, England will play the Barbarians in Twickenham. The game starts at 3 p.m. local time and will be aired on SkySports in Britain.

The Baa-Baas, an invitational only fifteen, play in their traditional black and white jersey while also wearing the socks of their own club. The club’s first contest dates to 1890 against the Hartepool Rovers.

Of note is that former England cap Chris Ashton will be in a Barbarian stripe. The 31-year old back scored 24-tries this season in the French Top 14 League, competing for Toulon.

The squad is coached by Pat Lam.

The past six matches between these two teams follow:

Year     Winner             Loser               Score

2017    England           Barbarians       28-14

2015    England           Barbarians       73-12

2014    Barbarians       England           39-29

2013    England           Barbarians       40-12

2012    England           Barbarians       57-26

2011    Barbarians       England           38-32

England will use the match as a warm up for the summer tour to South Africa. The Red Roses, after 18 consecutive wins, ceded the Six Nations Championship to Ireland in 2018, and lost in that tournament to Scotland.

Barbarian Squad


Niyi Adeolokun (Connacht & Ireland)

Chris Ashton (Toulon & England)

Malakai Fekitoa (Toulon & New Zealand)

Greig Laidlaw (Clermont & Scotland)

Luke McAlister (Toulon & New Zealand)

Josh Matavesi (Newcastle Falcons & Fiji)

Semi Radradra (Toulon)

Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors & Scotland)

Josua Tuisova (Toulon & Fiji)

Rhodri Williams (Bristol & Wales)


John Afoa (Gloucester & New Zealand)

Denis Buckley (Connacht)

Ultan Dillane (Connacht & Ireland)

Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (Toulon & Argentina)

Ramiro Herrera (Stade Francais & Argentina)

Benjamin Kayser (Clermont & France)

Nili Latu (Newcastle Falcons & Tonga)

Tatafu Polota-Nau (Leicester & Australia)

Sateleki Timani (Clermont & Australia)

Justin Tipuric (Ospreys & Wales)

Loni Uhila (Clermont)

Flip van der Merwe (Clermont & South Africa)

Victor Vito (La Rochelle & New Zealand)