You are here


World Rugby 7s Series 2018/2019 – World Rugby announced the official schedule for the HSBC Women’s and Men’s Sevens in 2018/2019. One significant change; Glendale, Colorado, will be added to the Women’s venues as a sixth stop.  The Women met in Las Vegas in 2016/2017, and years before in Hosuston and later, at Fifth Third Bank Stadium in Kennesaw, Georgia. Glendale will begin the series this October 2018.

Men’s Schedule
Dubai, UAE, 30th November – 1st December 2018 
Cape Town, South Africa, 8th – 9th December, 2018
Hamilton, New Zealand, 26th – 27th January 2019
Sydney, Australia, 2nd – 3rd February 2019 
Las Vegas, USA, 1st – 3rd March, 2019
Vancouver, Canada, 9th – 10th March, 2019
Hong Kong, 5th – 7th April, 2019
Singapore, 13th – 14th April, 2019
London, 25th – 26th May, 2019
Paris, 1st – 2nd June, 2019

Women’s Series

Colorado, USA, 20th - 21st October, 2018
Dubai, UAE, 29th – 30th November, 2018
Sydney, Australia, 1st – 3rd February 2019 
Kitakyushu, Japan, 20th – 21st April, 2019
Langford, Canada, 11th – 12th May, 2019
Paris, 31st May – 2nd June 2019 

Once again, Paris will mark the end of season finale for both Men and Women as occurred in the 2017/2018 series.

RWC 2019 Repechage Match - This Saturday, Hong Kong host Cook Islands in the second match of the two-game playoff, the winner will advance into the four-team repechage for the RWC 2019 Japan final placement.

Major League Rugby Championship Game – The battle for the title of the inaugural MLR season will take place inside Torero Stadium, San Diego, Saturday, July 7 when number one ranked Glendale meets second ranked Seattle. The game will be at 6 p.m. PT, and aired on CBS Sports Network at 9 p.m. ET.

Recap of Promoted/Relegated Sides in the English Aviva Premiership – The 12-team league relegates the lowest ranking side into the Second Division, promoting the winner of that Division into the Premiership the next year. What’s interesting is the up and down movement of London Irish, London Welsh, and Worcester versus the top clubs, which stay up year-after-year. 

2017-18: London Irish - Relegated. Three wins and 19 losses

2016-17: Bristol - Relegated. Three wins and 19 losses

2015-16: Worcester - Stayed up. Seven wins and 15 losses (finished 10th out of 12)

2014-15: London Welsh - Relegated. Lost all 22 league games

2013-14: Newcastle - Stayed up. Three wins and 19 losses (finished 11th out of 12)

2012-13: London Welsh - Relegated. Five wins and 17 losses

2011-12: Worcester - Stayed up. Seven wins, one draw and 14 losses (finished 10th out of 12)

2010-11: Exeter - Stayed up. 10 wins and 12 losses (finished 8th out of 12)