You are here


The seventh World Rugby Sevens World Cup starts tomorrow, Friday, June 20 in San Francisco. For three-days, 24 Men's teams, and 16 Women's teams will square off in AT&T Park. NBC Sports network will televise thirty-hours of fast-paced rugby during the three-days of the event.

The winners from the 2013 event in Moscow were:

                Men                 Women

Cup     New Zealand   New Zealand

Plate    Canada            Australia

Bowl    Russia              Fiji

The Women's line up of games on Friday follows:

Fiji vs. Spain

France vs. Japan

Russia vs. South Africa

Canada vs. Brazil

Australia vs. Papua New Guinea

New Zealand vs. Mexico

England vs. Ireland

USA vs. China

The Eagles will play without Alev Kelter, the brilliant playmaker who is out with injuries. 

The eight Men's side with this season's higher standings must wait for the outcome of the rounds of other core teams' games against regional qualifiers.

The Friday preliminary games to advance are:

Kenya vs. Tonga

Canada vs. Papua New Guinea

France vs. Jamaica

Wales vs. Zimbabwe

Samoa vs. Uganda

Russia vs. Hong Kong

Japan vs. Uruguay

Ireland vs. Chile

The USA will play the winner of the Wales/Zimbabwe match.

The format is easy: win and advance in the Cup rounds.

Good luck to all teams, and congratulations to the organizers of the event.