You are here

Travis Prior Photo

The San Diego Surfers captured their third sevens national championship with a 19-12 victory over the Scion Sirens. The California side jumped out to an early 19-0 lead and withstood a late charge to become the first program with three 7s titles in history.

The Surfers were dominant on day one, going 3-0 in pool play and only yielding five points. They were put to the test, however, in the cup quarterfinals. The Surfers were tied 12-12 with Rocky Mountain and ultimately pulled away to win 26-12.

The semifinal bore the same result, this time over ARPTC. Although, in this game the Surfers led 26-7 and were in full control from the onset.

San Diego would face a tired Scion team in the final. After defeating the Atlanta Harlequins in the quarterfinals, Scion went into overtime against Life West. After nearly six minutes, Scion notched a game winning score to make its way to the finals.

The eventual champions took advantage of their opponent’s tired legs, going up 19-0 early in the game. Stephanie Rovetti sandwiched two scores in between a try from Alena Olsen to put the Surfers up in the first half.

Scion responded with a pair of tries from Saskia Morgan and with one conversion made Scion had the opportunity to tie the game with less than a minute to play. San Diego, however, was able to repel the attack and find touch to take home the crown.

Stephanie Rovetti was named the MVP.