You are here

It was championship weekend for college as the 2017 rugby season came to a close. With the titles of Men’s DIAA and DII and Women’s DI and DII at stake at Furman University, great competition brought out the best of college rugby.

For the women, Davenport completed their unbelievable inaugural year in the division by winning its first DI Championship over Notre Dame, 89-24. In the back-to-back semifinals and finals for DII, Winona State outlasted Vassar to capture the trophy, 38-36. Winona State made it to the finals after beating Cincinnati on Saturday while Vassar dispatched the Coast Guard, 36-22.

On the men’s side, the Mothers of Mary Washington capped an undefeated season with a 37-13 DIAA Championship victory over St. Joseph’s. For the DII title, UW-Whitewater beat North Dakota State on Saturday to play VMI for the crown on Sunday. Today, UW-Whitewater won its third DII Championship and second in a row with a 34-27 win.

In the NSCRO Mid-Atlantic Cup Playoffs, Loyola earned the berth into the Region 2 Semifinal when it beat Catholic, 48-27. On Saturday, both squads fought their way to the final by scoring the same amount of points as Catholic beat Elon, 52-7, and Loyola ran past Christendom, 52-38. Loyola will play the South Cup Champion on April 7th for the Region 2 Championship.

On the final Saturday of D1A rugby, the Red River Conference concluded its yearly business with victories for Baylor, Texas, and Arkansas. The Bears beat Oklahoma, 31-10, the Longhorns smashed Houston, 71-13, and the Razorbacks edged Texas Tech, 40-36. Lastly, St. Mary’s outmatched Gordon RFC (Australia), 27-17.

Two select side matches in the Mid-Atlantic saw the Chesapeake Conference Selects fall to Navy, 46-19, in Annapolis, Md. and the Capital Rugby Union Selects beat the USA Rugby South Panthers, 52-28, in Raleigh, N.C.

Michigan15Minnesota22D1A - Big Ten
Ohio State31Purdue24D1A - Big Ten
Stony Brook5Fordham31D1A - Liberty
Colgate14Binghamton32D1A - Liberty
American International College71Rutgers0D1A - Liberty
Brockport17Albany48D1A - Liberty
Oswego State5Syracuse43D1A - Liberty
Rhode Island0Northeastern69D1A - Liberty
Tufts0UConn30D1A - Liberty
UMass49Fairfield14D1A - Liberty
Delaware15West Chester24D1A - Non-Conference
Notre Dame7Davenport48D1A - Non-Conference
KutztownCancelledVirginia TechCancelledD1A - Non-Conference
Western Michigan12Indiana35D1A - Non-Conference
Iona7Navy25D1A - Non-Conference
Arkansas State63Mississippi State0D1A - Non-Conference
Colorado College17Air Force21D1A - Non-Conference
Saint Bonaventure10Army28D1A - Rugby East
Buffalo3Army86D1A - Rugby East
Penn State29Notre Dame College14D1A - Rugby East
New Mexico26Colorado49D1A -Rocky Mountain
Towson39Georgetown14D1AA - Chesapeake
Mary WashingtonPostponedJames MadisonPostponedD1AA - Chesapeake
Salisbury17Maryland12D1AA - Chesapeake
Indiana (PA)33Pittsburgh26D1AA - Mid-Atlantic
St. Joseph's25Rowan19D1AA - Mid-Atlantic
West Virginia11Temple32D1AA - Mid-Atlantic
Cincinnatti10Kentucky50D1AA - Non-Conference
Dartmouth45New England College12D1AA - Non-Conference
Kennesaw StateCancelledAlabamaCancelledD1AA - SCRC
Tennessee68Middle Tennessee State0D1AA - SCRC
NYAC26Life31Men's DI Club - Atlantic North/ARP
Old Blue52Mystic River14Men's DI Club - Atlantic North/ARP
Schuylkill River Exiles36Baltimore-Chesapeake22Men's DI Club - Mid-Atlantic
Rocky Gorge Rugby38Pittsburgh Harlequins14Men's DI Club - Mid-Atlantic
Northern Virginia RugbyPostponedNorfolk BluesPostponedMen's DI Club - Mid-Atlantic
Detroit Tradesmen45Chicago Griffins29Men's DI Club - Midwest
Chicago Lions75Columbus Rugby21Men's DI Club - Midwest
St. Louis Bombers0Metropolis Rugby59Men's DI Club - Midwest
Milwaukee Barbarians14Palmer College Dragons48Men's DI Club - Midwest
Ontario Arrows40Glendale Raptors18MLR - Exhibition
Albany Sirens5Philadelphia Rugby31Women's DI Club - Eastern
D.C. Furies12Atlanta Harlequins51Women's Premier League
Oregon Sports Union26San Diego Surfers29Women's Premier League
Chicago North Shore0Glendale Merlins45Women's Premier League
New York Rugby30Beantown Rugby33Women's Premier League