You are here

The Canadian Men waltzed through the Rugby North American Olympic qualifying tournament, outscoring opponents 293-15. From the field of eight quarter finalists to the Cup title, Canada beat Guyana 43-5, Bermuda 50-0, and Jamaica 40-5 for the crown.

Jamaica, now coached by Steve Lewis at West Point, and Mexico (finished third) will move into the Repechage Qualifier scheduled for June 23 and 24 in Incheon, South Korea.

Currently, there are seven sides that have qualified for the twelve-team Olympic contest; host Japan, USA, Fiji, New Zealand, and South Africa, from the 2018/2019 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series, Argentina (Rugby South America winner), and, finally, Canada.

The remaining five slots will come from:

  • Europe Tournament;
  • Oceania Tournament;
  • Africa Tournament;
  • Asian Tournament; and.
  • Repechage

The European event will be the most competitive with teams from Great Britain (England, Scotland, and Wales), facing France, Russia, Spain, Portugal, and an improved Ireland squad, which will become a core team in the 2019/2020 HSBC World Series.

Oceania will pit Australia against Samoa and Tonga. Samoa showed significant improvement this year.

The Africa event features Kenya versus all others.

Asia will showcase China (with Hong Kong) also against lesser opponents.

The Repechage represents the last opportunity to qualify, which, certainly, will include many of the current core sides.