You are here

The Rugby Sevens World Cup of 2005 witnessed a showdown between sevens titans when Fiji and New Zealand squared off for the finals in Hong Kong.  Fiji, RWC winners in 1997, outscored opponents 176-19 in pool play (5-0), while reigning champions New Zealand (RWC 2001 winners) generated similar pool numbers at 211-17 (5-0).

Fiji won their quarterfinal match against Argentina 22-14, and next won the semis against England in sudden death 24-19 on a brilliant overtime run by Wasaile Serevi .

New Zealand found a similar path with an easy win over France 33-7 and then eked out a narrowest of wins against Australia 24-20 in the semis.

In the cup title match, Fiji jumped off to a 29-7 lead to hold up the All Blacks, winning 29-19.

Samoa beat Portugal 29-7 for the Plate. Italy defeated Canada 7-5 for the Bowl.

The USA went 2-4, with pool wins over Ireland and Korea, and pool losses to New Zealand, Scotland, and Tonga. Finally, a Plate, first round loss to Georgia 24-0.

In the same Hong Kong event, the USA Women (3-2) finished a decent third, beating Japan 31-7. New Zealand won their eighth consecutive Hong Kong tournament. For the Eagles, Christy Ringgenberg (U. of Minnesota) and Ines Rodriguez (Keystone) tied for most points with 35.

The seventh World Rugby Sevens World Cup will take place July 20 to July 22 in San Francisco for both Men (24 teams) and Women (16 teams). The format differs from prior RWCs as one loss eliminates a nation.

Men's World Cup Sevens Results:

Year     Winner             Second

1993    England           Australia

1997    Fiji                     South Africa

2001    NZ                       Australia

2005    Fiji                      England

2009    Wales                Argentina

2013    NZ                       England