You are here

Fiji Celebrate Win

Fiji defeated England 28-17 to take the Cup in Dubai, the first of ten sevens' stops on the 2015/2016 circuit. The Fijians, winners of last season’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens, continued their winning tradition.

The USA Eagles finished third, for the bronze medal with 31-12 victory over the All Blacks. South Africa won the Plate, defeating Australia 19-14. France beat Scotland 24-14 for the Bowl.  Finally, Canada took the Shield, 19-17 against Japan.

Standings      Points

Fiji                       22

England            19

USA                    17

NZ                       15

South Af.           13

Australia           12

Samoa                10

Argentina          10

France                  8  

Scotland              7

 Kenya                   5

Wales                     5 

Canada                3

Japan                    2

Russia                   1

Portugal               1

Next week, the tournament moves to Cape Town and is already sold out. This will be Cape Town's 7s host debut.

The USA's pool opponents will be Australia, Wales, and Portugal.