You are here


This Saturday will feature the final of the 2018/2019 Heineken Champions Cup between Saracens (England) and Leinster (Ireland) in the 52,000-seat capacity St. James Park Stadium, Newcastle.

Saracens waltzed through the qualifying rounds, winning eight times to reach their third Cup final, in four-years. The side won the event twice before in 2016 and 2017. They scored the most points of all teams in the beginning rounds.

Leinster lost by one point to Toulouse in the qualifiers, before defeating the same French side in the semifinal round. Leinster, winners of the Championship on four previous occasions, will be looking for their fifth Heineken Cup, which would give them the most wins of any club in this competition.

These historic clubs were founded within a year of each other, Leinster in 1875 and Saracens in 1876. Both fifteens have sent many players into national sides and the British-Irish Lions tours.

The two clubs play with all-star number 10s, Saracens with Owen Farrell and Leinster has Johnny Sexton.

On Friday, in the same venue, Clermont Auvergne will face La Rochelle RFC in the European Rugby Challenge Cup.