You are here

This weekend’s HSBC Hong Kong Sevens will mark the 44th anniversary of the event. The tournament is divided into three segments, Men’s 16-teams, Men’s 2020 Qualifier 12 teams, and Women’s 2020 Qualifier 12-teams.

The action begins Friday, April 5 and concludes Sunday, April 7.

Past Winners – Fiji and New Zealand have dominated the event with 29 championships. Data follow:

Fiji – 18 titles

NZ – 11

Australia – 5

England - 4

Samoa 3

Men’s Qualifiers – The nation that wins the annual Hong Kong qualifier will be promoted to circuit status in 2020, thereby playing in all ten sevens events. Past winners:

2018 - Japan

2017 – Spain

2016 – Japan

2015 – Russia

2014 – Japan

Women’s Pools

  • Belgium, Scotland, Japan, Mexico
  • Papua New Guinea, Hong Kong, Kenya, Uganda
  • Argentina, Zimbabwe, Brazil, Poland

Men’s Qualifier Pools

  • Germany, Uganda, Chile, Cook Islands
  • Russia, Uruguay, Ireland, Jamaica
  • Tonga, Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Philippines

Is this the year that Ireland moves its sevens program into the same, upper category as the national fifteen side?