You are here

The results from last weekend’s HSBC World Rugby Men’s Cape Town Sevens indicate a tournament that is even-steven regarding the leading teams. Four new nations made it to the final four, now totaling eight teams in the Dubai and Cape Town events. The new qualifiers were South Africa, Argentina, France, and Kenya, who join Fiji, England, USA, and New Zealand. All of these will compete in Rio this summer.

South Africa repated as winner of their nation's tournament, defeating Argentina in the final. France nipped Kenya by two points for the bronze medal.

After two events, the point standings follow:

  1. Fiji       35
  2. SA       35
  3. USA    29
  4. Arg.     29
  5. Eng.     26
  6. Fran    25
  7. NZ        25
  8. Aust.    22
  9. Kenya  20
  10. Scot.    15
  11. Samoa 13
  12. Wales   10
  13. Can.       8
  14. Russ.     3
  15. Japan    2
  16. Port.       2
  17. Zimb.     1

Of note, is the low standing of injury-plagued New Zealand, which ranks seventh. Historic rival matches witnessed Kenya upending South Africa, and Scotland beating England.

Pools for Wellington in the last week of January have already been drawn. The Eagles will play England, France, and Samoa.