You are here

The IOC announced the pools for men and women in the upcoming Rio Olympics that will begin in August. Basically, twelve teams will compete in three pools with the top eight teams moving on to the quarter-final round. After that, four move ahead to the semis, and, then the final. A gold, silver and bronze medal will be awarded to the top three teams.


The USA Women are in Pool A with 2016 Women’s circuit victor, Australia. Assuming the Eagles finish second in this pool, their next match would be against the winner of Pool C, which would be either Canada or Great Britain.

  1. Pool A – Australia, USA, Fiji, Colombia
  2. Pool B – New Zealand, France, Spain, Kenya
  3. Pool C – Canada, Great Britain, Brazil, Japan


The USA Men are similarly slotted in Pool A. The goal for the Eagles is to make it into the final eight, where even a 1-2 record in pool play, but with a rout of Brazil, would advance the national side into the quarters on point differential. A 2-1 record would, like the USA women, result in the next match against the winner of Pool C, ostensibly, the All Blacks.

If, however, the Eagles prevailed as winner of Pool A, then they would play the second best, third place team, probably, an easier match then the other two scenarios.

  1. Pool A – Fiji, USA, Argentina, Brazil
  2. Pool B – South Africa, Australia, France, Spain
  3. Pool C – New Zealand, Great Britain, Kenya, Japan


Each team plays the three other nations in their pool over the first three match sessions with three points for a win, two for a draw and one for a loss. The best eight teams will then proceed to the first round of knock-out matches, the quarter finals.

Those will be the three teams who top their pool, along with the three teams placed second in each pool and also the two best third-placed teams, based on competition points and then points difference.

The draw for the quarter-finals in both the Men’s and Women’s is as follows:

QF 1

Winner Pool A vs. 2nd best 3rd place

QF 2

Winner Pool B vs. best 3rd place

QF 3

Winner Pool C vs. Runner Up Pool A

QF 4

Runner Up Pool B vs. Runner Up Pool C

The draw for the semi-finals as follows:

SF 1

Winner QF1 vs. Winner QF4

SF 2

Winner QF2 vs. Winner QF3