You are here

The road for the USA to qualify for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan remains the same route thru Canada as before, offering a potential three sequential events' possibility.  Of special note is that with Georgia having already booked entry via their two wins in the 2015 RWC, this past outcome opens an easier pathway for Romania, Russia, Spain, or Germany to advance into the RWC in Europe qualifying rounds.

Twelve sides have already qualified, including Japan as host nation. Eight spots remain.

Americas (Two) 

Again, as in past RWC tournaments, the first opportunity for the Eagles is to beat Canada (or win on aggregate points) in home and away contests for one of the two Americas' slots. The USA are on a five-match win skein against the Maple Leafs. The loser of this preliminary event will play the highest-ranking South American side, which means Uruguay again. Should Los Teros prevail, the North American loser moves to one last chance in the all-global repechage.

Oceania (One)

Due to their poor showing in 2015's RWC, Fiji (10), Tonga (13), and Samoa (14) will meet in a Pacific Nations Cup to qualify for one spot.

Oceania/Europe Playoff (One)

The Oceania team that finishes second will then meet the second ranked team from Europe  (Romania, Russia, Spain or Germany) for a playoff place.

Europe (One)

European champion - Romania, Russia, Spain, or Germany - will move ahead even if Georgia win the Rugby Europe Championship.

Africa (One)

The winner of the Rugby Africa Championship, either Namibia or Zimbabwe, will qualify for RWC 2019. The runner-up qualifies for the repechage tournament.

Asia/Oceania play-off for repechage place (One)

The highest-ranked team from the Asia Rugby Championship (excluding Japan) will play home and away against the winner of the Oceania Cup.

Repechage qualifier (One)

This tournament represents the 2019 RWC's last chance event to determine the final nation. Possible entries might be Tonga, Samoa, Germany, Romania, Russia, Spain, Namibia, Zimbabwe, or Uruguay.