You are here

All Blacks vs Los Pumas

New Zealand won its third consecutive Rugby Championship by defeating Argentina 34-13 away in La Plata. With 21 points, the All Blacks – even if they should lose again South Africa next week – will still retain the 2015 title. They hold a six point advantage over the Boks.

NZ Captain Riche McCaw equaled the record for most appearances, achieving his 133rd cap, and eclipsing the record previously held by Colin Meads set in 1971.

The All Blacks jumped out to a 13-0 lead, and were never seriously challenged. The Pumas committed too many turnovers. Their sole try came about in the final two-minutes.

NZ earned a bonus point by scoring four tries in the match.

Next week – October 4; South Africa vs. NZ, and Argentina vs. Australia

Tries - H.Agulla
Pen - N.Sanchez 2
Con - N.Sanchez

New Zealand
Tries - B.Smith, I.Dagg, J.Savea, TJ.Perenara
Pen - B.Barrett 2
Con - B.Barrett 3

Match Officials
Craig Joubert
Assistant Ref 1:Jerome Garces
Assistant Ref 2:Leighton Hodges
TMO : Deon van Blommestein



Joaquín Tuculet; Juan Imhoff, Marcelo Bosch, Juan Martín Hernandez, Manuel Montero; Nicolas Sanchez, Tomas Cubelli; Leonardo Senatore, Juan Martín Fernandez Lobbe, Benjamín Macome; Tomas Lavanini, Mariano Galarza; Ramiro Herrera, Agustín Creevy (capt), Marcos Ayerza

Replacements: Matías Cortese, Lucas Noguera Paz, Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Matías Alemanno, Rodrigo Baez, Martín Landajo, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Horacio Agulla

New Zealand

Israel Dagg; Ben Smith, Conrad Smith, Malakai Fekitoa, Julian Savea; Beauden Barrett, Aaron Smith; Kieran Reid, Richie McCaw (captain), Jerome Kaino; Sam Whitelock, Brodie Retallick; Owen Franks, Keven Mealamu, Wyatt Crockett

Replacements: Nathan Harris, Joe Moody, Ben Franks, Jeremy Thrush, Sam Cane, TJ Perenara, Colin Slade, Cory Jane.


Match Details

09.29.14 La Plata, Argentina
Final Score